Featured Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars 

Terry McCarl Victorious At Knoxville

Offical ASCS Press Release: KNOXVILLE, Iowa (July 29, 2017) Able to hold off several restart attempts at his lead, Iowa’s Terry McCarl picked up the win with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network at Knoxville Raceway for Weiler Night at the Races in TheSnowPlow.com/Country Builders No. 24

Leading Saturday’s 25 lap A-Feature start to finish, McCarl would double up his weekend for the fourth time in his career at Knoxville Raceway with a run to the win in the 410cid division. McCarl’s seventh overall win of the 2017 season, and seventh in ASCS 360cid competition at the Knoxville Raceway, the win is Terry’s 12th Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour triumph.

“When you’re leading like that, even with a good car you throw Ian Madsen, Brian Brown, and guys like that behind you; it’s tough,” said McCarl of the win. Speaking on restarts, McCarl said he kept trying to change things up so no one could build a run on him and also said there was concern about the nose wing, as it got beaten up avoiding a crash on the initial start.

Getting the lead over Ian Madsen on the start, McCarl would quickly be joined by National Tour point’s leader, Sam Hafertepe, Jr. who rocketed the low line from the ninth starting spot. Into slower traffic on the eighth round as Terry pulled to over a two-second advantage, the caution would come out with 12 laps complete when Carson McCarl spun to a stop off the fourth turn.

Restarting with Brian Brown now in tow, the Casey’s General Store/FVP No. 21 was not able to grab the top spot and would see his night end on Lap 15 with an expired engine. Advancing Sam Hafertepe, Jr. back to the show position the Heidbreder Foundation No. 15h would go toe to toe with Ian Madsen on the ensuing restart with the No. 18m grabbing second while Hafertepe worked to hold off Tim Kaeding, who nearly ran the pair into the fence. Caution a scramble with the pair of cars nearly going for a ride, Seth Bergman capitalized and rushed the bottom side to grab third.

One final single file run to the green on Lap 22, Ian Madsen gave Terry McCarl all he could but would come up 0.823 seconds short. Seth Bergman third was followed by Sam Hafertepe, Jr. with Tim Kaeding ending his night fifth.

Jamie Ball sixth was tailed by Wayne Johnson who was the night’s CP-Carrillo Hard Charger with a run from the 24th starting spot. Clint Garner, Ryan Giles, and Jason Martin made up the top-ten.

A field of 62 drivers was on hand. Qualifying was utilized with split groups at play. Brian Brown at 16.160 was fastest in Group A. McKenna Haase was fastest in Group B at 16.745 seconds. Heat Races were topped by Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Tim Kaeding, Jason Martin, Rager Phillips, Matt Egel, and Calvin Landis. A pair of B-Mains went to Dusty Zomer and Carson McCarl.

The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network races again on Sunday, July 30 at Mason City Motor Speedway in Mason City, Iowa. Sunday’s showdown at Mason City is the series inaugural trip to the Iowa half-mile. Hot Laps get underway at 6:00 P.M. (CDT)

For continued updates on the American Sprint Car Series, from the National Tour to any of the seven regional tours that make up the over 150 races across the ASCS Nation in 2017, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

Protect the Harvest A-Feature:

A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 24-Terry McCarl, [7]; 2. 18M-Ian Madsen, [2]; 3. 23-Seth Bergman, [12]; 4. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr, [9]; 5. 3K-Tim Kaeding, [15]; 6. 5J-Jamie Ball, [11]; 7. 2C-Wayne Johnson, [24]; 8. 40-Clint Garner, [16]; 9. 9-Ryan Giles, [13]; 10. 36-Jason Martin, [17]; 11. 2M-Matt Moro, [19]; 12. 82-Dusty Zomer, [21]; 13. 55-McKenna Haase, [10]; 14. 3-Nate VanHaaften, [4]; 15. 18-Ryan Roberts, [8]; 16. 70-Calvin Landis, [20]; 17. (DNF) 17X-Josh Baughman, [22]; 18. (DNF) 21-Brian Brown, [6]; 19. (DNF) 75AUS-Matt Egel, [18]; 20. (DNF) 3P-Sawyer Phillips, [1]; 21. (DNF) 5H-Carson McCarl, [23]; 22. (DNF) 4-Jon Agan, [5]; 23. (DNF) 17-Tyler Groenendyk, [3]; 24. (DNF) 22-Rager Phillips, [14]

Lap Leader(s): Terry McCarl 1-25
CP-Carrillo Hard Charger: Wayne Johnson +17
FSR High Point Driver: Jon Agan
Provisional(s): N/A

Related posts

Leave a Comment